Behind the Lions

Behind the Lions


Publisher: Polaris Publishing in association with the British & Irish Lions

Stephen Jones, Tom English, Nick Cain and David Barnes with Peter Burns and John Griffiths


'A fascinating collection of insights' – The Sunday Times

***** – Rugby World

'utterly compelling' – Planet Rugby

'comfortably the most interesting and entertaining history of the Lions' – Irish Times

The bestselling rugby title of 2012 and 2013 covers every tour in the Lions 125 year history, including the victorious 2013 tour.

Shortlisted for Rugby Book of the Year at the 2013 British Sports Book Awards


This is the history of the British & Irish Lions… in their own words.

For 125 years the British & Irish Lions have stood out as a symbol of the ethics, values and romance at the heart of rugby union. To represent the Lions is the pinnacle for every international player in Britain and Ireland, and the dream of tens of thousands of avid fans who follow them. A Lions tour, undertaken every four years to the southern hemisphere, is more than a series of rugby matches played out on foreign fields; it is an epic crusade where the chosen few face a succession of mental and physical challenges on their way to the Test arena, where they do battle with the superpowers of the world game.

Behind the Lions sees six esteemed rugby writers delve to the very heart of what it means to be a Lion, using diaries and letters from those who pioneered the concept, to interviews with a vast array of players who have followed in their footsteps. In so doing they have uncovered the passion, pride and honour experienced when taking up the unique challenge of a Lions tour. This is a tale of heart-break and ecstasy, humour and poignancy that is at once inspirational, moving and utterly compelling. And it is the only story worth hearing: the players’ own.



Polaris is a publishing and digital media company that celebrates writers, stories and ideas that excite, inspire and entertain. We are immensely proud to publish a range of award-winning works by world-class authors and are committed to publishing important, thoughtful and gripping stories with passion, skill and dedication.

Learn More